Connect the Dots Logo

Columbia College's

Academic Wellness Educators    

Keeping Us Connected


Keeping Us Connected                 

Volume 2, Issue 2, October '08


Hewlett Leaders in Student Success


Columbia College received statewide recognition for its innovative efforts to increase the success of students in basic skills. Columbia and three other colleges were named “Hewlett Leaders in Student Success” at an educators’ conference in Anaheim, and received a stipend to support efforts to share their strategies with other schools.


Alex Campbell and Johnny Proctor

Alex Campbell and Johnny Proctor, Student Senate President


Johnny Proctor, Student Senate President

Johnny Proctor speaking to a crowd of over 800


Another surprise was Johnny Proctor, our Student Senate President who flew down to Anaheim to speak in front of an audience of over 800 attendees. He mesmerized the audience with his witty and sincere speech about how Columbia College and the faculty has been an inspiration in his life.


Steering Committee Celebrates





The AWE Steering Committee had a lot to share and talk about on Friday, October 17th. Adrienne Webster passed around the awards and then we discussed some of the other AWEsome events taking place such as the 1st Year Experience's success and the healthy enrollment of 80 students being served in the ESL classes within the community.


Adrienne Webster

Adrienne Webster, AWE Core Facilitator sharing the plaque from the

YCCD Board


Craig Johnston and Brian Demoss

Craig Johnston and Brian Demoss passing the award around



Columbia College Named

“Hewlett Leader in Student Success”



President Joan Smith and Johnny Proctor

President Joan Smith and Johnny Proctor receiving the award


Celebration luncheon!


Friday, November 7th in The Cellar 

Lunch will be served from 11:30 am to 1:30 pm



This is a celebration for all the Academic Wellness Educators to share in the success and recognition of the hard work that goes into serving our students at Columbia College.

If you have any questions or comments please feel free to contact Adrienne Webster, Anne Cavagnaro, Meryl Soto, Lynn Martin, Karin Rodts, Craig Johnston or Melissa Colón. Check out the AWE Web site.